Watkins Glen in Wood

Got Wood?
Your ROUTED TRACK Home!
Share Your Designs, Building Techniques & Finished Layouts!

Watkins Glen in Wood

Postby 73emgee » Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:44 am

This is my first attempt to fit the 3.4 miles of Watkins Glen International into my available basement real estate. I used the actual turn radius from a 1971 survey of the actual track when it was expanded to include the "Boot". All dimensions from the survey blueprints have been scaled down to fit the space available and to avoid interference with the lally column. The track is temporarily resting on the bench work joists and only in joint has been completed. Eventually the track will raised to the actual scaled down elevations from the surveys. I'm encouraged that it seems to fit the space, but much work remains before running any laps.

ImageWP_20161227_005 by 73emgee, on Flickr

"The Boot"
ImageWP_20161227_004 by 73emgee, on Flickr
73emgee

Re: Watkins Glen in Wood

Postby HomeRacingWorld » Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:46 am

What an interesting track project. Looks like you have a great start.
-Harry

"They didn't say you couldn't" - Smokey

HomeRacingWorld
HRW Janitor

Postby scatman » Tue Dec 27, 2016 9:20 am

Looking forward to more pics. Someone is going to have a Happy New Year.
Tony
scatman
HRW SlotCar Veteran!

Postby CJR » Tue Dec 27, 2016 9:49 am

Awesome!
CJR
HRW SlotCar Veteran!

Postby ShotgunDave » Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:27 am

Always nice to see new wood coming to life. Can't wait to see your first laps.

And by the way, welcome to HRW! :text-welcomewave:
ShotgunDave
Connoisseur of Rust

Postby dreinecke » Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:33 am

I have my popcorn ready - epic build on the way - I can just feel it!

Love WG!
dreinecke
King of the Dum-Dums!

Postby RV Racing » Tue Dec 27, 2016 11:04 am